My latest build: DIY Command Center

Happy Thursday everyone!!  Boy, am I happy the week is almost over.  School just started and it’s already kicking my ass lol.  And because school has started, I needed to get organized and it’s what inspired the project I’m about to share with you all today. I actually built it last weekend but just finally getting a chance to blog about it.

About a week ago, on my FB feed, because I had been browsing on Target, one of those ads that usually pop up after you’ve looked at a website popped up.  Anyways Target was advertising other things I might be interested in and one of them was a command center.  And I thought we could totally use one of those.  It wasn’t super expensive about $40 if I remember correctly and I almost ordered it but before I order anything I always read reviews and it got horrible reviews so I decided to hold off on ordering.

target command center
The command center from Target

So last week on the Shanty2Chic website just browsing.  I tell you those sisters are amazing and such an inspiration.  They make me want to build!! Well lo and behold they had a DIY command center that I just loved.  So I decided to build my own using the plans that they had with a few changes of my own.  You can find the plans here at http://www.shanty-2-chic.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/S2Cblg_Wall-Organizer.pdf.  The best thing about this project is that it cost me less than $20 dollars.  I used scrap wood that I had for most of it and it was a pretty easy build.

For my board I used a 16″ x 24″ piece of plywood from Lowes, for the mail holders the plan called for 1x3s but since I had tons of scrap 1x4s I used those instead.  And instead of bull clips the sisters used for theirs I used chalk board clothespins.  Like I said their plans were really easy to follow and you can head to their website if interested in building it.

IMG_9691
And there it is!!  Just what we need.  A place to hang our keys when we walk in the door, Mike can stop misplacing his sunglasses 🙂 and a place to keep the mail sorted.  The entryway is really beginning to come together. 

 

Started out by making all my cuts using my awesome saw/miter box combo

Putting the mail holder pieces together with glue.

Attached the constructed mail holders to the piece of plywood.

IMG_9654
Spray painted the piece of project luan with chalkboard spray paint.
IMG_9655
Stained my whole piece
IMG_9666
Once the stain dried, I glued the chalkboard piece to the plywood

Added some decorative nails

Added cup hooks.  Drilled a small holes first then screwed in the hooks.

IMG_9670

The original plans had called for bull clips to be added but I found these cool clothespins so I used that instead. I just glued them on.

IMG_9678

IMG_9682
And there it is!!

IMG_9692IMG_9694

As usual, I’d love to hear your feedback. Comment, like, share, pin.  Have a wonderful rest of the week!!

KAB

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Abigail says:

    Beautiful! It’s in you sis 🙂

    Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    This looks easy. I love how you make it look so easy.

    Like

    1. Kandi Brown says:

      Thank you!! That’s my goal to simplify things 😀😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

