The Vacation is over…back to reality

Happy Tuesday everyone!!  So we took a much needed beach vacation this past weekend and got back yesterday.  It was such a good time, didn’t want it to end. Got to spend time with family, eating good food and drinking good wine.  Kennedy also got to spend time with her cousins…babies everywhere!! It was great.

cousins
Kennedy and her cousins Sophia and Leo bonding 

Alas, all things must come to an end and we are back home.  Which means I have to get back my list of projects.  Last week I gave our old beat up Ikea Lack table a total makeover (you can read all about it here) and it has propelled me to finally get our living room in order.

Table24
The Lack Table in all of it’s makeover glory 🙂

Sitting in the living room is an old dresser I’ve been trying to figure out what we going to do with it.  It’s way too big for the guest room and it’s not exactly what I’m looking for, for Kennedy’s room.

dresser1
Here’s the ugly old thing.  

After scouring Pinterest for inspiration at first  I thought I would turn it into a TV/stand.  It was already in the living room so there would be no having to move it.  All I would have to do is remove the top two drawers, install a shelf that the cable box, dvd player etc can be tucked into and the rest of the drawers would be storage.  Unfortunately, I realized that wouldn’t work as the bottom drawers were in pretty bad shape. So I had to do something that would require me to get rid of them.  So I decided I’m turning this baby into a buffet for the kitchen/dining.  Which is actually pretty perfect as I could still use more storage in the kitchen.  So the plan is to keep the top two drawers, remove the remaining, remove the railings and install two shelves for storage.  Some paint and new hardware and I will have myself a new piece of furniture.

dresser2
Dresser cleaned, slightly sanded and center mount slides removed.  

This baby is now ready for some coats of paint.  Can’t wait to get started and share the final result with you all.  Hopefully I can get it done before the end of the week.  Stay tuned for another furniture makeover.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. tmkamson says:

    Wow that’s a lovely idea kandi can’t wait to see the finished work.

    Like

  2. Taiwo Abolurin says:

    This is very nice

    Like

    1. Kandi Brown says:

      Thank you!! 😀😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

