I love a good sale!!

Happy hump day everyone!!  One of the things I’ve been thinking of taking on but have been hesitant to do is up cycling furniture.  We have some old pieces that I had thought of getting rid of but I’ve seen so many amazing up cycled pieces of old furniture on Pinterest that I decided maybe I shouldn’t get rid of them.  Many of these pieces I’ve seen on Pinterest were transformed with just paint and sometimes new hardware.  Amazing what a  couple coats of paints can do.  I’ve been hesitant to try it though because I once tried to paint over a piece of Ikea furniture and what a disaster that was!!

From the research I’ve done, painting old furniture requires a few steps before you can do the actual painting.  Stripping, sanding, priming…ain’t nobody got time for all that. And then I just found out that there is such a thing as chalk finish paint that requires none of the prep…say whatttt??  Now that’s my type of paint.  So I did some research on Pinterest and I love what I’ve seen so far.  Chalk paint I’ve found is a great paint that can be used to distress if you like the chabby chic look which is right up my ally.  So anyways I’ve decided to try my hand at transforming my first piece of furniture.  This old beat up Ikea Lack coffee table.

table1

From my research Annie Sloan Chalk Paint seems to be the best and most popular but that’s a bit steep for my budget so I did a little more research and two other brands popped up that had rave reviews: Buttercream and Americana Decor Chalky Finish Paint.  So earlier today I decided to go to my local Joann Craft store and man did I score!!  All Buttercream products were on sale for 75% off, so I picked up every color they had left.  These babies are usually $14.99  and I got them each for about $3.75.

The Americana Decor Paints weren’t on sale but I had a 30% off coupon on one regular priced item and a 20% off coupon on my entire order.  Really can’t beat that deal.  So I spent a little over $50 on about $150 worth of products.  Now that’s a heck of a deal.

Paint3

Now I’m super excited to start painting away.  Looking forward to sharing with you all!!

 

KAB

3 Comments Add yours

  1. snickledpink says:

    Who doesn’t love a good sale? Can’t wait to see what you create!

    Like

  2. crememoments says:

    I can’t wait to see what you will do with these….

    Like

Leave a Reply

