Mason Jar Wall Lanterns (Part 2)

Hi everyone!!  Phew!! Finally completed the mason jar lantern project.  Ran into a few snafus along the way.  After I had allowed the stain on the wood boards to dry for 24 hours, I set out to attach my hooks. I quickly ran into a problem when I realized the screws that came with the hooks were way too long.  They screwed right through the wood completely and were poking out through the back which I didn’t want so I had to get shorter screws.  Then the wire hangers I had gotten to use to hang the mason jars just didn’t do it for me.  Hated how they looked so once again I had to regroup and decided I wanted to use chain to hang them.  Lastly the candles I had bought for the jars would not fit!!  So in the mean time I put in tea lights that I have lying around at home until I can get another set of candles.  But it’s finally done, I’ve hung them and I really love how they came out.  Please leave your comments and let me know what you think 🙂 🙂

I attached saw tooth hangers on the back of the wood boards to use to hang on the wall.

Attaching the hooks

IMG_9108
This was what I was initially going for but I hated how it looked

 

Punched two holes on opposite sides of the mason jar lids and attached the chains and spray painted

IMG_9132-1
Admiring my work 🙂  Using tea lights in the mean time since my candles wouldn’t fit in the jar

And here they are on the wall!!!

IMG_9138IMG_9137

 

 

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Abigail says:

    wow! They’re so beautiful! Good job sis Kandi

    Like

    1. Kandi Brown says:

      Thank you!! 🙂 🙂

      Like

  2. Fifi says:

    I am really impressed. Where did you buy all the stuff?

    Like

    1. Kandi Brown says:

      Hey!! Thank you!! Haha I guess I should have put where I got my supplies in the post. I got most of my supplies from Home Depot which is a home improvement store. I got the mason jars from Target but you can use any type of jars really. I’m starting to not throw out food jars such as the ones for spaghetti sauce lol. It’s all about up cycling. I also got the decorative stones and the hooks from Target though you can get those at any craft store or even on Amazon.

      Like

  3. Uzo says:

    Lovely!!

    Like

    1. Kandi Brown says:

      Thank you!! 😊😊

      Like

  4. George Osai says:

    Easy to DIY.

    It’s beautiful. You’re good. Thanks

    Like

    1. Kandi Brown says:

      Thanks George!!! I appreciate it 😀😀

      Like

  5. MaryJane says:

    Wow!!, great job Kandi. I love the look of your final work better than the initial one.

    Like

    1. Kandi Brown says:

      Thank you!!! 😀😀😀

      Like

  6. Cute and Simple Design says:

    That is so beautiful! I love Mason jar crafts! Have you ever painted Mason jars?

    Like

Leave a Reply

