First blog post/Nursery Progress

Once again welcome to my blog.  As many of you know I’ve recently gotten into the whole DIY thing. Kennedy’s impending arrival is actually what started my whole DIY journey. Before she arrived, even though at the time we lived in a one bedroom apartment and she wasn’t going to have a nursery, a space was made for her in our bedroom and I  wanted it to be cute. Initially I was looking to buy decorations/artwork to hang on the wall but my goodness!! Everything is so super expensive!! So I started looking on Pinterest for ideas and from there realized I can try to make my own decor. Mind you I’ve never thought I was creative or imaginative so at first I thought it was going to be near impossible. But Mike (my husband) was a huge source of encouragement and helped to boost my confidence. And thus it all began. 

We have since bought our first house and I’m now currently working on her nursery. It’s been a relatively slow process.  Painting her nursery which should have taken a few hours took me a couple of days.  The little monster is becoming quite the handful!! I’m quite pleased with how it’s turning out.  I absolutely love the color I decided to use for her walls.  I didn’t want to go with the usual pink and I also wanted something that was calming and I thought this mint green was perfect. I decided to incorporate pink accents such as the curtains and her dresser/changing table. I’ve also incorporated the pieces I made for her space while in the apartment into the nursery. And I’m currently working on adding a few other things which I’ll be updating you all on here on the blog. I’m hoping to add some book shelves and create a reading wall.  Also have plans to build a couple of chests/toy boxes.  I’m also looking for a rug that will tie it all together.  Below are pictures of the nursery currently. I can’t tell you how much I love the piece of art hanging over the crib It’s not perfect by any means but I like to think of it as my own masterpiece.  I’ve never been able to draw and I had to painstakingly practice this over and over on sheets of paper till I was able to get it right and I’m quite happy with how it came out. Maybe one day Kennedy will pass it on to her child lol.

IMG_8680
Before picture of Kennedy’ s nursery
IMG_9035
Kennedy’s changing station
IMG_9036
Kennedy’s sleeping area

I also look forward to sharing the other projects I have going on in the house.  The wheels in my head are constantly turning and I’m super excited about some of the projects I have in the works.  Also so don’t be surprised to see Kennedy and Will Feral make guest appearances.  

Thank you for reading and please feel free to contact about any questions you might have. 

Love,

KAB

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Whitney says:

    awww I love love this! could you please share tutorials or links on how you made the giraffe paintings and maybe the boxes too? thanks, you’re the best.

    Like

    1. Kandi Brown says:

      Hi Whitney!! Thank you for your kind words. It was a while that I did the painting way before I ever thought about blogging but I think I can do a post on how I did. I will also try to find where I got the inspiration for it and share. 🙂 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

